Licensure

Volunteer Applications for Physician Assistants

The NC Medical Board offers additional license applications to meet the different needs of physician assistants wishing to practice medicine in North Carolina. Click “learn more” to access applications.

Limited Volunteer License Application for Physician Assistants

Who should complete this application?

Physician assistants who are not licensed in North Carolina but wish to volunteer at indigent clinics. A PA with a limited volunteer license can practice medicine in North Carolina for no more than 30 days per calendar year and may not receive compensation for services rendered at clinics specializing in the care of indigent patients.

 

Show More 

Renewal requirements

NC law requires licensed physician assistants to renew with the Board within 30 days of their birth date, every year, no matter when the license is issued.

Am I eligible for licensure in North Carolina?

The following outlines the necessary requirements for licensure. Failure to submit required information may result in delays.

  • Application: chronological information beginning with high school, questions and applicant’s oath
  • Citizenship: a photocopy of a birth certificate, valid and unexpired U.S. passport or a statement regarding immigration status is required, whichever may apply
  • Documentation of legal name change if applicable
  • Fingerprint and criminal history record check through the SBI and FBI
  • Verification of active licensure from another state or jurisdiction indicating the status of licensure.
  • Fee: $38.00 (fingerprints)

Application credentials and fee are good for one year. If the applicant is not issued a license within the year and chooses to reapply, he or she will be required to resubmit all application credentials and an additional application fee.


PA Retired Limited Volunteer License

Who should complete this application?

Physician assistants who hold an active license in North Carolina or another state or jurisdiction who are planning to retire from paid clinical practice but wish to volunteer in civilian indigent clinics. PAs who practice under a Retired Limited Volunteer License may not receive any compensation for their work.

Show More 

Click on the “Online Application” button at right. Applicants are required to submit certain paper documents to supplement the online application. The NCMB only accepts applications submitted online.

Please view the checklist at right. It is designed to help you manage application requirements.

Intent to Practice

PA applicants must complete their application and have been issued a PA license to practice in North Carolina before they can complete the PA Intent to Practice Form.

Renewal requirements

NC law requires licensed physician assistants to renew with the Board within 30 days of their birth date, every year, no matter when the license is issued.

Am I eligible for licensure in North Carolina?

In order to obtain a PA Retired Limited Volunteer License the applicant shall:

  • Complete the online PA Retired Limited Volunteer application and all documentation as required in the online application.
  • Submit proof of active licensure from another state or jurisdiction indicating the status of the license and whether or not any action has been taken against it.
  • Submit a report from the Federation of State Medical Boards (FSMB) Report.
  • Undergo a fingerprint and criminal history record check through the SBI and FBI
  • Submit documentation of continuing medical education obtained in the last three years.
  • Provide NPDB/HIPDB reports (requested by NCMB on behalf of the applicant)
  • Verify citizenship: a photocopy of a birth certificate, valid and unexpired U.S. passport or a statement regarding immigration status is required, whichever may apply
  • Submit documentation of a legal name change, if applicable.
  • Submit a recent photograph, at least two inches by two inches, affixed to the oath and notarized.
  • Pay the fee: $38 (covers the cost of the criminal background check).
  • Give a personal interview, if requested.

Application credentials and fee are good for one year. If the applicant is not issued a license within the year and chooses to reapply, he or she will be required to resubmit all application credentials and an additional application fee.