Resources & Information

License Renewal

This is my very first renewal. How do I enter my CME?

You are exempt for your very first renewal because your CME cycle does not start until the first birthday following initial licensure.

Example: Your license is granted on August 1, 2013,  and your birthday is December 1st.  When you renew in December you would click “exempt” for CME on this first renewal.  Start recording your CME hours from your birthday, 12/1/13 .  Your 3 year cycle will run from 12/1/13 -  12/1/16 and you will need a total of 60 hours of CME during that 3 year cycle.  There is no minimum that must be earned/reported per year.


Is it okay to complete my license renewal online using a mobile device?

No, it is not recommended. Mobile devices are not supported at this time.


How do I get a copy of my receipt and certificate after renewing?

Certificates are sent by email only. Once you complete your online renewal, you will receive two emails from the Board within 24 hours.  One email is your receipt and the other email is your certificate. The certificate is sent as an attachment and you will need Adobe Reader (a free program) to open it. You can save the certificate on your computer and print it out, if you wish to carry the wallet card section with you.

If you do not receive your certificate or receipt after 24 hours, you can print a duplicate copy from the NCMB website here. Follow prompts to enter your File ID #and DOB to log in.  You will be able to click on either the certificate or receipt (one at a time - you may not print both documents at once) and then you can print off the screen.

If you have any trouble retrieving your receipt or certificate off the website, send an email to .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)  Include your name and File ID # so we may identify and help you.


Is there a grace period to renew my RTL?

NCMB policy allows a 30 day grace period (e.g. the licensee must renew within 30 days of his or her birthday). Residents should check with their training institution because many require that you renew your Resident Training license on or before your due date to continue practicing in their facilities.


Where can I view my current CME hours?

Your current CME hours can be accessed on our website. Log in to the NCMB’s Licensee Information Portal using your FileID# and date of birth. The tab “Preferences/CME” will allow you to view the CME hours in your current three-year cycle.

If you have questions or need to make changes, please .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address).


If I’m applying for a full license, do I still need to register my training license?

Yes. North Carolina law requires that physicians register their license within thirty days of their birthday each year.


How do I make my license inactive and what does that mean in NC?

To request that a license be placed on inactive status, send an email to the Board’s renewal coordinator, at .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) Be sure to include your full name and license number in your email request for inactive status. You may also send us your request in writing via USPS. Send your letter to the North Carolina Medical Board, Registration, PO Box 20007, Raleigh , NC 27619-0007. To download a copy of the form used to request inactive status, click here.

ALL licensees are strongly urged to understand the implications of going inactive before taking this step. Practitioners with inactive licenses are not required to renew annually with the Board or to pay the annual renewal fee. Inactive practitioners MAY NOT practice medicine or surgery, write prescriptions or administer prescription drugs in NC under any circumstances.

To reinstate an inactive license, it is typically necessary to apply to the Board, meet the current licensing requirements and pay the full licensing fee, which is currently $391.00 for MD/DO licensees. This fee includes $38.00 for a criminal background check. If there has been an interruption in the continuous, clinical practice of medicine greater than two (2) years, the applicant must reestablish his or her competence to practice medicine safely to the Board’s satisfaction.  Click here to read the Board’s position on re-entering the practice of medicine.

Before making any decision about going inactive, the Board recommends that licensees thoroughly familiarize themselves with the requirements of reactivating or reinstating a license, including the possible need for a plan of reentry. Please read the related FAQs on reactivating and reinstating licenses. For additional information, check the license application requirements for reactivation and reinstatement. This content can be found in the Licensing section of this website.

 


Why won’t the online renewal form accept my CME entries?

CME hours must be reported in a certain way for the database to recognize them. Use only whole numbers (no decimals) when entering your CME hours. Do not add any additional text.


I am trying to indicate hospital privileges, but my NC hospital is not among the available choices.

You may inform the NC Medical Board by filling out the survey at the end of the renewal process or by e-mailing the renewal department.


I live out of state and cannot enter my hospital privileges

Only North Carolina residents are required to enter hospital privileges.


I live out of state. Why can’t I enter my county?

Only licensees who practice in North Carolina are required to enter their county.


How long does it take to process a license renewal?

Online renewals are processed immediately. You can verify that your renewal went through by simply going to “Look Up a Licensee” on the Board’s website. Enter your name and then click on the details page link. If the “annual renewal” date has been updated your registration has successfully gone through.


I am a licensee and I am going out of the country for a year. May I renew my license early?

Yes, but if it is more than 60 days before your next birthday, you must contact the renewal department.


I failed to renew my license on time. Is my license made inactive immediately?

No. If you have not registered on time, a late fee is added 30 days after your renewal date and a certified letter will be sent to your mailing address on file with the Board. You will have an additional 30 days from the date of receipt of this letter (as evidenced by the return receipt) to renew. If your renewal has not been completed online within this time period, your license will be placed on inactive status. It is unlawful to practice with an inactive license.


I just received my medical license and my birthday is next week. Do I have to renew my license?

Yes. All active licensees in NC must register their license every year within 30 days of their birthday. This requirement applies even if the license is issued shortly before the birthday. The licensee must pay the annual renewal fee in addition to the license application fee.