New law mandates controlled substances CME for physicians and other prescribersComments: 1 comment
Boards have discretion under the new law to determine how best to implement the CME requirement. The Board will consider the new law and discuss how to implement it for physician and PA licensees at its January meeting.
Current CME rules for physicians require 60 hours of Category 1 CME over a three year period.
A physician assistant must complete at least 100 hours of continuing medical education (CME) every two years, at least 50 hours of which must be American Academy of Physician Assistants Category I CME.
New CME Requirements
A provision signed into law this fall makes CME in controlled substances prescribing mandatory for all who prescribe them.
CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS SECTION 12F.16.(b)
The following health care provider occupational licensing boards shall require continuing education on the abuse of controlled substances as a condition of license renewal for health care providers who prescribe controlled substances:
- 1. North Carolina Board of Dental Examiners.
2. North Carolina Board of Nursing.
3. North Carolina Board of Podiatry Examiners.
4. North Carolina Medical Board.
In establishing the continuing education standards, the boards listed in subsection (b) of this section shall require that at least one hour of the total required continuing education hours consists of a course designed specifically to address prescribing practices. The course shall include, but not be limited to, instruction on controlled substance prescribing practices and controlled substance prescribing for chronic pain management.
Comments on this article:
It is my sincere hope that this will be available online, as I do not have the time nor interest to attend this mandatory training in person in Raleigh. I’m too busy filling out third party payor forms, Maintenance of Certification, 60 hours of CME, and oh yeah, the rare dinner with my family.By Keith A Raymond MD on Nov 17, 2015 at 6:38am